Animeggroll!

I decided to take a journey to find the store Animeggroll after I met the owners at the Japanese Festival. I was wanting to stock up on some nerd essentials such as bento tools and some anime gear. So, I plugged the address into my GPS and away I went. I honestly thought it was going to be closer than it was and all of the construction I had to drive through didn’t help.

However, after about 50 minutes I found them tucked away behind an Aldi’s in an obscure strip mall. I went inside and was excited to see the extent of their merchandise. There was a wall of manga and anime (some discounted at a fair price), costumes, a small section of bento boxes and accessories, calligraphy tools and other random (but awesome) anime items. Not to mention, they also carried an assortment of original Nintendo games. A nerds dream!  Now I will admit that they were smaller than I was hoping, but the selection was decent and the owners were happy to order items from their supplier if they didn’t have it at that time.

All in all, I’d give it 3 out of 5 stars for their willingness to help, their selection and prices. The downside is the drive so if you live in Illinois and plan on making the trip, make it worth your while and stock up (I did!). I know the majority of you probably prefer to order online, but I found their prices to be comparable if not cheaper than most sites. Not to mention you get to go home with the item in hand instead of waiting for it to arrive at your door.

Realistically, I’d go again, but probably not for another six months or so. Hopefully I will find a place closer. Any suggestions?

Your local nerd,

Dian

Planning a visit? Here’s their info:

Animeggroll

9254 Watson Rd.

Crestwood, MO  63126

Phone: 314-543-3009

Animeggroll.com

ImageThe store front.

Image

Some calligraphy items.

Image

A portion of their manga selection.

Image

Nintendo and Xbox game selection. The systems of my childhood.

Image

My selection of items all for roughly $25.

Posted on September 13, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

